Commission Members

Maryland Stem Cell Research Commission: This independent Commission functions within TEDCO and consists of the following members:

The Attorney General or Designee
Ira Schwartz, Senior Assistant Attorney General and Counsel to the Maryland Technology Development Corporation


Three patient advocates
Bowen P. Weisheit, Jr., Board member of the Maryland Chapter of Cystic Fibrosis Foundation and lawyer with the Law Office of Bowen Weisheit, Jr. (appointed by the Governor)

Vacant (to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates)

Vacant (to be appointed by the President of the Senate)


Three individuals with experience in biotechnology
Margaret Conn Himelfarb, Health Advisory Board and Institutional Review Board, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health; Embryonic Stem Cell Research Oversight Committee, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine (appointed by the Governor)

Linda Powers, managing director of Toucan Capital, an early and active supporter of biotech companies (appointed by the President of the Senate)

Curtis P. Van Tassell, Research Geneticist, USDA-ARS, Beltsville, MD (appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates)


Two individuals who work as scientists for the University System of Maryland (appointed by USM) and do not engage in stem cell research
Rachel Brewster, Associate Professor, Biological Sciences University of Maryland, Baltimore County

David Mosser (Chair), Department of Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics, University of Maryland, College Park


Two individuals who work as scientists for the Johns Hopkins University (JHU) and do not engage in stem cell research, appointed by JHU
Scott Bailey, Professor The Johns Hopkins University, Bloomberg School of Public Health

Haig H. Kazazian, Jr. Professor of Pediatrics McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, the Johns Hopkins University, School of Medicine


Two bioethicists, one appointed by USM and one by JHU
Diane Hoffmann, Professor of Law, Director Law & Health Care Program, University of Maryland School of Law. (appointed by USM)

Debra Mathews (Vice Chair), Assistant Director for Science Programs , Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics; Associate Professor, Dept. of Pediatrics, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. (appointed by JHU)


Two individuals with expertise in the field of biomedical ethics as it relates to religion, appointed by the Governor
Rabbi Avram I. Reisner, Rabbi of Congregation Chevrei Tzedek in Baltimore, MD



Past Commission Members

Jack Chow
Joseph Capizzi
Diane Griffin
John Kellermann
Gloria Marrow
Murray Sachs
Steven Salzberg
Norma Andrews
Karen Rothenberg - past Chair
Jack Schwartz
Jeremy Sugarman
Joel Zaiman
Brenda Crabbs
Sue Ostrand-Rosenberg
Noel Rose
Kevin FitzGerald
Marye Kellermann
Sharon Krag